20th anniversary of the adoption of the Stockholm Convention

The Stockholm Convention was adopted on 22 May 2001 in Stockholm, Sweden, and entered into force on 17 May 2004.

As of its 20th anniversary in 2021 the Convention has 184 Parties, making it near universal in its geographical coverage.

To celebrate this milestone, the Secretariat is producing the a video series “Twenty Voices for Twenty Years” in order to gather, document and share stories, experiences, successes from the Convention’s first 20 years.

This video series is made possible thanks to the funding generously provided by the Government of Sweden.

Celebrating 20 years of the Stockholm Convention 20 Voices - for 20 Years

Rolph Payet, Executive Secretary of the Basel, Rotterdam and Stockholm Conventions

John Buccini, Chair of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee
Bo Walstromm, Former Senior Scientific Advisor
of the Stockholm Convention

Jim Willis, Former Head of UNEP Chemicals and Executive Secretary of the Stockholm Convention