National Implementation Plans

Each Party is required to develop a plan for the implementation of its obligations under the Convention, which needs to be transmitted to the Conference of the Parties within two years of the date on which this Convention enters into force for it (Article 7).

Article 7 also calls for a review and update of the plan on a periodic basis and in a manner to be specified by the Conference of the Parties.

All NIPs received by the Secretariat are then presented to the next Conference of the Parties. To transmit your NIP to the Secretariat please use this template properly filled and signed either by the Official Contact Point to the Secretariat (OCP) or by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs or to consult on this matter, please contact us at:

Below are all the NIPs transmitted by Parties, grouped according to the amendments to the Convention that they address:

List of National Implementation Plans

  • Initial NIPs
  • Addressing COP 4 amendments
  • Addressing COP 5 amendments
  • Addressing COP 6 amendments
  • Addressing COP 7 amendments
  • Addressing COP 8 amendments
  • Addressing COP 9 amendments


Parties that declared, in accordance with paragraph 4 of Article 25, in their instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession, that any amendment to Annex A, B or C shall enter into force only upon deposit of their instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession with regard to such amendments: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Botswana, Canada, China, Estonia, Guatemala, India, Mauritius, Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Vanuatu and Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela. Any such amendments shall enter into force for those parties on the ninetieth day after the date of deposit with the depositary of their instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession with regard to the amendments.

Those parties that have deposited their instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession with respect to amendments are indicated in the respective columns of the table above, with dates of entry into force of those amendments in each column for the Party in question.

On 19 October 2016, 10 May 2013 and 23 December 2014 respectively, Estonia, Slovakia and Spain withdrew declarations made on ratification under paragraph 4 of Article 25.

European Union, New Zealand and Serbia submitted to the depositary notifications of non-acceptance, in accordance with paragraph 3 of Article 22. As at 27 December 2016, New Zealand and Serbia had not withdrawn its notification of non-acceptance. The European Union withdrew its notification of non-acceptance of the amendment listing hexabromocyclododecane, which entered into force on 22 April 2016.